2016 WSF World Juniors head to Poland

SH24357Just three years after first hosting a world championship in the sport, Poland has been selected by the World Squash Federation to stage the 2016 World Junior Squash Championships.

Under the auspices of the Polish Squash Federation, the event will be held in the city of Bielsko-Biała from 7-16 August. The event will comprise the Men’s and Women’s Individual Championships, followed by the Men’s Team Championship.

SH24450“Hosting the World Juniors next year is a huge challenge for all my team and we’re very happy to bring such an event to our squash-booming region,” said Maciej Klis, owner of Enjoy Squash, the venue for the championships.

“We see massive potential in this event and so our modern 10-court facility will be well prepared!

“We will try to provide the highest level of Polish hospitality and make things as easy as possible for all the young players, parents and coaches. Also there will be an all-glass court provided by Squash Promotion Group and installed in the heart of Bielsko-Biała city right under our classic castle.

“The motto for the whole event will be “work hard to get exposure” as we think the need of presenting squash to the public is a strong desire of any player,” Klis continued. “We’re also sure that the level of our beloved sport will be very high, so all our squash community will be looking forward to seeing all the great matches.”

The World Junior Championships have long been a stepping stone to adult success since the first championship took place in 1980: The current Egyptian world number ones are both double World Junior Individual title winners – Mohamed Elshorbagy in 2008 & 2009, and Raneem El Welily the women’s champion in 2005 and 2007

Team Entries

Jordan and hosts Poland will make their debuts when 26 nations – representing all five continents – contest the 2016 WSF Men’s World Junior Team Squash Championship in the city of Bielsko-Biała from 12–17 August.

The World Squash Federation event will be staged at the 10-court Enjoy Squash, immediately following the Men’s & Women’s World Junior Individual Championships (from 6-11 August).
Champions Egypt will be bidding for a fourth successive title – and their sixth championship win since 1994.

The full list of nations competing in the event is:
Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hong Kong China, India, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Poland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, USA and Zimbabwe.


Check Also

Three months to go until historic championships

Just three months to go until the 2024 championships!